Middlemarch, A Study of Provincial Life is a novel by the English author George Eliot, first published in eight instalments in 1871–1872. The novel is set in the fictitious Midlands town of Middlemarch during 1829–1832 and follows several distinct, intersecting stories with a large cast of characters.

Mary Ann Evans/ Mary Anne/ Marian known by her alias George Eliot as an author was one of the prominent writers of the Victorian era. She was also a Journalist, translator, poet, and novelist. Her novel Middlemarch is considered one of the finest works of English literature. She also wrote six more novels such as Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Romola (1862–63), Felix Holt, the Radical (1866), and Daniel Deronda (1876) which are mostly set in provincial life. Her works always had a touch of realism and psychological insight. Unlike the Bronte sisters, her generation was advanced enough when women published under their own name she chose pen name for sake of stereotyping because women writers at her time were only famous for writing cheerful romances. She also wanted her fiction to be judged as an author rather than as an experienced editor and critic of the left-wing journal called The Westminster Review and protects her personal life.

No review found

Write a review

    Bad           Good
content title
Loading the player...

Stay Connected