Emma, by Jane Austen, is a novel about youthful hubris and the perils of misconstrued romance. The story takes place in the fictional village of Highbury and the surrounding estates of Hartfield, Randalls, and Donwell Abbey and involves the relationships among individuals in those locations consisting of "3 or 4 families in a country village".

Jane Austen is one the most popular and influential English novelist since the Victorian era primarily known for her six major novels: Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814), Emma (1816), and Northanger Abbey and Persuasion which were both published posthumously in 1818. Her six full-length novels have been barely out of print since then, yet they were published namelessly and brought her moderate success and little fame during her lifetime. Her works greatly inferred, analyzed and commented on the British landed gentry at the end of the 18th century. They often explore women’s dependence on marriage in the chase of positive social status and financial solvency. Her novels Sense sensibility published in the second half of the 18th century and is part of the transition to 19th-century literary realism. The use of piercing irony, with pragmatism, wit, and social observations, has long earned her acclaim among critics, and scholars.

No review found

Write a review

    Bad           Good
content title
Loading the player...

Stay Connected